Skip to content

Adventure Bar Story Gem or Jewel Cheats and Hacks

June 29, 2012

Adventure Bar Story iOS game is a lot of fun but it would be a lot more fun if you had more gems. That’s where this teaching of how iOS games usually store their data will help you understand how they work.

In the case of Adventure Bar Story (ABS) it stores its 3 saves into one file called SS2Save. There is no extension on it and all three games are contained inside that one file.

There are tips to earning money out on the internet already, but its the gems that give you the best advantage. right? They charge you for the game somewhere between 99 cents to $2.99 and then make you pay more for the gems. I saw many posts on forms requesting how to cheat and get more gems and no one had an answer, so I looked into it myself.

Image

I want to teach everyone the ability to change values in games to make them more fun.

1. Start by pulling your save file from your iDevice. Using iFile or SFTP/SSH (Step 1 requires a jail broken iDevice. If you have not jail broke your iDevice then stop here.)

2. Download WinHex From http://www.x-ways.net/winhex.zip

3. Open the SS2Save file in WinHex and look at the following picture as the example modify your save to the values in boxed area to FF FF.

4. Save it and place it back on your iDevice and wallah you now have 65k Gems.

Congrats and have fun.

If you get stuck doing the hex editing I will also upload the modified save with 65k gems to give an example of what your should look like.

Download the file below and remove the .jpg and that will be a save with zero time and 65k gems.

Make sure to rename the file to SS2Save in the Linux world capitalization matters.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. hier klicken permalink

    I really like what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of
    clever work and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve included you guys to our blogroll.

  2. Hal Coklow permalink

    I agree with your thought.Thank you for your sharing.

  3. Hi, Thanks for the upload but the only problem with the hex editting is if you do that then you can’t save your gave past the point where you hex editted so you’re going to be stuck on the spot where you hex editted unless you beat the game in one go. Any tips on how to fix that?

    • I showed the steps to allow anyone who has a game to add gems to their current save without starting over. This will allow a player to modify the gem value and continue playing their game. If you have modified the gems value and then when you save it does not overwrite your save it could because of a write permission problem. Make sure group has permission to write to the save and that should take care of the problem. The numeric value for chmod to provide owner and group read and write permissions would be 775.

  4. no clues permalink

    uhmm how to change chmod or something? i used ifunbox and manage to get 65k gems for first time, but now when i tried to change it second time (now 439 jewel left), its still FF FF but i cant change the jewel into 65k like first time. is there some certain files i need to change into read-write-executable on ifiles? (sorry still doesnt really understand how it works)

    • I don’t know how you used all 65k gems. I will look into fixing that problem.

      • I would say use the gems sparingly until this is figured out or I can get you more gems.

  5. kate permalink

    hi, how do you drag the ss2 save file from iFile to mac?

    • Don’t. It’s easier to use Hex Editor, and just change the values. You can do it in your own idevice, without “pulling it out”.
      Worked for me.

  6. That was an amazing job! But, could you explain how did you get there? I mean, how did you know that was the value for the gems?
    Some days ago I rooted my tablet and downloaded GameKiller and Hex Editor. I want to use them only for those certain games that claim to be free but almost force us to pay cash (i.e. some RPGs and RTSs)
    I’ve read some users can find item values (not only gold or exp) via GK. But my question is, how could you know ‘where’ the Hex value of the item or gem or whatever is and get it? Or just hack it using GK, GG…
    Greetings and thanks,
    a new fan of you đŸ™‚

  7. Thanks for the upload but……I tried using the file but no save files were found in the game.I removed the .jpg and I capitalized the double S.

    • If you can,can you please send me the save file via Dropbox? I tried changing the hex but it made it worser.My previous saves was gone but I didn’t mind.

Leave a comment